Service at 5 below

Mya Hauling Water

Mya and I moved water and manure today.  It’s definitely my favorite way to do it.  But on New Year’s Day, I serviced Mya and her friend’s paddock in a very different way.  It was five below zero at noon, and I wasn’t able to stay outside very long nor can I manage harness straps at that temperature.  Instead, I put a child’s snow sled to use.  I took water, minerals, and vitamins to my friends, who were indeed happy to see me.

I heard from a Cumbrian friend yesterday that they’ve gotten beyond the worst of their

Water, minerals, and vitamins at five below

snow but are now dealing with extreme cold.  Over the years of communicating with people in northern England, whether by email or by phone, I’ve noticed that their weather extremes track ours.  We got lots of snow here in the northern Colorado mountains last month at the same time that Cumbria was buried.  Now we’re getting more cold than snow, and so are they.  It’s not to say that the weather is identical, just that our trends seem to track each other’s.  I notice similar things with a friend in Arkansas.  She tends to get the Arkansas version of our weather about two days after we’ve had it.

I’m glad we’re not below zero right now, though one of our employees announced this morning that it’s supposed to get cold again next week.  Oh, joy.  I probably won’t be able to work with Mya, but at least I know that I can service my ponies.

About workponies

Breeder of Fell Ponies, teamster of work ponies, and author of Feather Notes, Fell Pony News, and A Humbling Experience: My First Few Years with Fell Ponies. Distributor of Dynamite Specialty Products for the health of our planet and the beings I share it with.
This entry was posted in Work Ponies. Bookmark the permalink.