Lily and That Spot

Robin and Lily watching for bear

What is it about Lily and that spot?  About a year ago, I had my Fell mare Turkey Trot Sand Lily tied up near the house when something startling happened.  Yesterday was a carbon copy.

Last year, a tire exploded on my wheelbarrow while I was putting a pack saddle on Lily. At the particular moment of the explosion, I was reaching under Lily for the girth.  Fortunately I was more shocked than Lily was, as she barely flinched.  I appreciated that since I was in a pretty vulnerable position. 

Today I had Lily tied in the same spot:  this time I was trimming her hind hooves.  The flies and heat were making her a little impatient.  She was pretty good, though, when I talked to her and asked her to let me keep her foot to continue trimming.  At one point, though, she got more agitated than before and actually hopped forward on two feet.  It took longer than usual to regain good foot manners, which surprised me.  When I was finally able to put her foot down respectfully, I stood up to see my nearby stallion Robin looking intently away.  I noticed Lily was looking the same direction, and when I followed their gaze, I saw the cause of Lily’s misbehavior.  There was a bear headed our way!

I called my dog, and she quickly picked up the scent and chased the bear off, despite the fact that the bear was 50% bigger then she was!  She obviously got lots of praise.  When I told my husband this story, his immediate response was, “I wonder what Lily would have done if you’d let her loose.”  I suspect she would have responded in typical pony style:  watching alertly until the bear was out of sight then seeking the nearest green thing to eat!

©  Jenifer Morrissey, 2011

 

About workponies

Breeder of Fell Ponies, teamster of work ponies, and author of Feather Notes, Fell Pony News, and A Humbling Experience: My First Few Years with Fell Ponies. Distributor of Dynamite Specialty Products for the health of our planet and the beings I share it with.
This entry was posted in Fell Ponies, Natural Horsemanship. Bookmark the permalink.