Thankful for Ponies 2011

These ponies that I love

I’m thankful for my ponies
Who’ve been so patient with me
While I have been away from them
More than I wanted to be.

They’re wanting time and stimulation,
And they’re offering ideas of their own.
They want opportunities to be with me
As they’ve repeatedly shown.

There’s the one I’ve taught to shake her hoof;
She offers when I come to her gate.
There’s the one that always asks questions.
Any answer from me is great!

There’s the one who follows me about
To see if I’ll give her a scratch.
There’s one when I have a halter
Makes himself very easy to catch.

There’s the one that gently nickers
Whenever I appear.
That sound is definitely something
That leaves me in good cheer.

There’s one that wants acknowledgement.
A treat will do just fine.
A handful of hay is what another wants.
I’m mostly an excuse to dine.

These ponies that I love
Have definitely missed my attention.
I love them more for these games they play
And others I’ve forgotten to mention.

I’m thankful for my ponies
And the creativity that they show
In finding ways to engage me.
From here it’s exciting to think where we’ll go.

(c) Jenifer Morrissey, 2011

About workponies

Breeder of Fell Ponies, teamster of work ponies, and author of Feather Notes, Fell Pony News, and A Humbling Experience: My First Few Years with Fell Ponies. Distributor of Dynamite Specialty Products for the health of our planet and the beings I share it with.
This entry was posted in Inspirations. Bookmark the permalink.