Fell Pony Genetic Diversity 2

Since reading Mared Hopkins’ poster on Fell Pony Genetic Diversity last month, I’ve been studying population genetics in an effort to better understand some of the finer points.  I’m afraid I’ve only been marginally successful.  My cousin, who has an advanced degree in biological sciences, laughed at me last night when I asked her if she could explain Expected Heterozygosity to me.  My husband told her that he’d looked at my computer screen as we were driving to her house, and there were formulas all over it; he’d expected to see pony pictures!

This blog post is now available in the book Fell Ponies:  Observations on the Breed, the Breed Standard, and Breeding.  To purchase on amazon, click here, or to purchase from the author, click here.

About workponies

Breeder of Fell Ponies, teamster of work ponies, and author of Feather Notes, Fell Pony News, and A Humbling Experience: My First Few Years with Fell Ponies. Distributor of Dynamite Specialty Products for the health of our planet and the beings I share it with.
This entry was posted in Fell Ponies, Rare Breeds. Bookmark the permalink.