Grandma Number Two

Restar Mountain Shelley III – my latest Grandma

This winter I’ve begun calling my Fell Pony mare Restar Mountain Shelley III “Grandma.”   She has two grandsons on the ground now, so it’s not an inappropriate moniker, but I admit to finding it a bit awkward.  She’s only nine years old this year, so she seems really young to be a grandma.

Shelley is actually Grandma number two in my herd.  Sleddale Rose Beauty was the first.  Beauty first became a grandma at age thirteen, the year that I bought her, when Beauty’s oldest daughter Midnight Valley Wild Rose had Mustahevonen Deco.  And Beauty became a grandma for me in 2006 at the age of nineteen when Willowtrail Columbine was born.  Seeing Beauty with her grandchildren here has made the ‘grandma’ moniker more real than just knowing there was a foal out there somewhere.

Each morning and evening right now I get to see Shelley interact with her newest grandson Willowtrail Winter Dare as I walk he and his mother from night stall to day paddock.  Darry is usually moving at a high rate of speed, which often causes Shelley to move along the fence with him similarly.  It’s clear he’s a chip off the old block!

My two grandmas interact with the other ponies in my herd very differently.  Beauty would rather be with the herd than with the humans, while Shelley seems to prefer to be with humans than with the herd.  I’m lucky to have these two grandmas in my life for the different gifts they give me.

Both of Shelley’s grandsons are for sale.  For more information, click here.

About workponies

Breeder of Fell Ponies, teamster of work ponies, and author of Feather Notes, Fell Pony News, and A Humbling Experience: My First Few Years with Fell Ponies. Distributor of Dynamite Specialty Products for the health of our planet and the beings I share it with.
This entry was posted in Fell Ponies. Bookmark the permalink.