A Resolution Opportunity

Wildhorse statue, Steamboat Springs, ColoradoAccording to the 2014 calendar that I just unwrapped, the first new moon of the year falls on New Year’s Day.  The new moon is often considered the beginning of the moon’s cycle and is regarded as a good time to start something new.  The convergence of the new moon and New Year’s suggests that setting a resolution this year makes more sense than usual.

For horse people, of course, there’s another reason to start 2014 off with intention.  The Chinese Year of the Horse starts on January 31.  I don’t usually set a New Year’s resolution, but this year it feels like I’d be crazy not to.

Jerry Williams, creator of The Horseman’s Jingle, shared on his Facebook page a few days ago a poster stating, “Worry is a waste of imagination.”  Jerry added as a caption, “Worry is just using your imagination in a negative way.  Make sure you use your imagination to create your dreams.”  Jerry has always impressed me with his teaching and coaching style, and these messages really hit home.  Can you tell I’m a worrier?!  I’m also a firm believer in the importance in each of us pursuing our dreams, so Jerry’s message was a good reminder to not let worry cause us to stray from our path.

Several years ago I heard Thich Nhat Hanh, the Buddhist monk, also address the topic of worry.  His point:  there’s no need to worry.  If you can do something about the cause of your worry, then there’s no reason to worry.  And if you can’t do anything, there’s also no reason to worry.  I’m looking forward to adding Jerry’s quote to this one by Thich Nhat Hanh to recite to myself when I start worrying in 2014!

I haven’t completely defined my New Year’s resolution yet, but I know it will have something to do with enjoying my ponies and not worrying about it.  I hope you can by worry-free in 2014, too.  Happy New Year!

© Jenifer Morrissey, 2013

About workponies

Breeder of Fell Ponies, teamster of work ponies, and author of Feather Notes, Fell Pony News, and A Humbling Experience: My First Few Years with Fell Ponies. Distributor of Dynamite Specialty Products for the health of our planet and the beings I share it with.
This entry was posted in Inspirations. Bookmark the permalink.