April Fools

Willowtrail Farm Fell PoniesThis year I have learned that the foolish part of April applies as easily to the weather as it does to human antics.  And the foolishness manifests the whole month, not just on day one.  We can have a stretch of warm drying weather that feels very much like spring, then there’s a sharp turn, and we have a foot of snow.  In fact it’s not uncommon to have the early part of the month feel more spring-like than the latter half.  That’s certainly been the case this year.

Every time the weather changes, I’m reviewing the state of things outside.  When it is supposed to warm, is the snow on the haystacks shoveled?  When it is supposed to get cold, are the stock tank heaters started?  I experience severe wardrobe frustration, switching back and forth between cotton shirts and long underwear, mud boots and snow boots, usually all in the same day!

I’m a slow learner, though.  When working on What an Honor, the sequel to A Humbling Experience, I was reminded that it does this every year because  I added chapters about April’s foolish weather from 2009 and 2010 to the table of contents.  According to those entries, nice weather at the first of the month gives us hope that the snow will actually go away, and then we get dumped on.  This year we’ve had two storms of a foot or more; in past years it’s always been more than that, counting up to May 15.  We have some time to go yet!

I do feel like I ‘beat’ the pattern a little this April.  When I saw that the weather was supposed to grow significantly colder and white two weeks ago, I took advantage of the last nice afternoon to spend time having fun with my ponies.  When the snow hit the next day, I didn’t feel quite as fooled by April as I have historically been!

© Jenifer Morrissey, 2014

A Humbling ExperienceTo purchase A Humbling Experience,
click here.

 

About workponies

Breeder of Fell Ponies, teamster of work ponies, and author of Feather Notes, Fell Pony News, and A Humbling Experience: My First Few Years with Fell Ponies. Distributor of Dynamite Specialty Products for the health of our planet and the beings I share it with.
This entry was posted in Fell Ponies. Bookmark the permalink.