No Foal This Time

The snow storm earlier this week apparently made the national news because I’ve received a few emails asking if I had another foal.  The coincidence of a winter storm and a nearly full moon harkened back to my latest reliable foaling predictor (click here to read that post.)  Believe me, I queried my expectant mare when I heard the forecast, but she’s not due for another few weeks.  I suspect if another storm is forecast around the new moon, she will foal then.  In the meantime I’m tempted to research foaling dates from previous years to see if there’s any correlation with the phase of the moon!

Big Horn ram in Poudre CanyonWe actually didn’t get much snow this time around, just three inches.  We were on the road the next day, though, to snowier parts of the state, and while the amount of snow was remarkable, it was the reactions of the wildlife that most caught our attention.  Flock after flock of small birds were on the highway.  Our trip was slowed by my husband swerving often to avoid them.  Unfortunately occasionally they were too chilled or wet to fly off before vehicles came up on them.

Bull moose in Poudre CanyonOur road trip took us down the picturesque Poudre Canyon.  We saw all the large ungulates that reside there.  They seemed to have been forced down in altitude by the storm.  I had my camera at the ready for the bighorn sheep, elk, and bull moose but missed the mule deer, which we see more frequently than the others.  My husband, who has been driving the canyon highway for more than forty years, says that it was the first time he’d seen all four in one trip.  Where we live in North Park we see the four resident ungulates – elk, moose, deer, antelope – on a single trip about once every few years.  It’s a bonus when we see both kinds of deer, though – mule and white tail.

Elk in Poudre CanyonThe ponies were unimpressed by the storm except that I fed them one extra time to help with the cold and wet.  Someday I’ll remember to take my camera out and videotape the tinkling of the iceballs that accumulate on their feathers during spring storms.  This particular storm created quite the symphony.  I’m guessing this was the last major storm of the season, though, so I’ll have to put that on my to-do list for next year.  Instead I’ll spend my time getting all the mud off their coats that they accumulated when the sun came out the next day making for good, if dirty, napping.

© Jenifer Morrissey, 2014

A Humbling ExperienceIf you enjoy stories like this, you’ll also enjoy the book A Humbling Experience.  Click here to learn more.

About workponies

Breeder of Fell Ponies, teamster of work ponies, and author of Feather Notes, Fell Pony News, and A Humbling Experience: My First Few Years with Fell Ponies. Distributor of Dynamite Specialty Products for the health of our planet and the beings I share it with.
This entry was posted in Inspirations. Bookmark the permalink.