Thank You, Lola

Turkey Trot Sand Lily & Lola Quinlan

Turkey Trot Sand Lily and Lola Quinlan

The most pleasurable public event I’ve ever done with a Fell Pony was in February 2010.  I accepted an invitation from Lola Quinlan to attend a book signing at Jax Farm and Ranch in Fort Collins, Colorado.  It was the first of four book signings that I attended that Lola organized.  I was saddened to learn that Lola passed away last week.

At that first event, Turkey Trot Sand Lily and I (ably supported by my husband) spent five hours answering questions and entertaining crowds while Lola handled all the attendant logistical details.  The photo shows Lola taking a break from her duties to meet Lily.  We didn’t have many lulls in the action that day, but Lola seemed to enjoy it as much as I did.  She even bought one of my books!

Cache La Poudre RiverBetween where I live and where the book signings were, the highway traverses Poudre Canyon, down which the Cache La Poudre River flows.  We never tire of the scenery when we make that trip.  I didn’t know it until last week, but Lola, too, appreciated the Poudre.  Her family has asked that remembrances be given to a Poudre Waterkeeper organization.

Thank you, Lola, for the fond memories of a day spent with Lily talking to the public about Fell Ponies.  And for your passion for the Poudre.  May you rest in peace.

© Jenifer Morrissey, 2015

A Humbling ExperienceBook Fell Pony ObservationsTwo books I’ve signed at Lola’s events are A Humbling Experience and Fell Ponies:  Observations on the Breed, the Breed Standard, and Breeding, available internationally by clicking here.

About workponies

Breeder of Fell Ponies, teamster of work ponies, and author of Feather Notes, Fell Pony News, and A Humbling Experience: My First Few Years with Fell Ponies. Distributor of Dynamite Specialty Products for the health of our planet and the beings I share it with.
This entry was posted in Fell Ponies. Bookmark the permalink.